October 30, 1858 Letter to Nancy Betts from James Crawford

October 30, 1858                  

To: Nancy Betts                                

From: James H. Crawford, Cassville, WI

His wife Ann died on the 26th and he is left with two small children.

1858-10-30 1858-10-30B

Cassville 30 October 1858

Dear Mother

In answering your letter I have to inform you of the deth of my dear companion. Ann[1] dear wommen is gone. I am left with to little children[2] to mourn her loss. I am not well myself. I have a bad cold. The children is well. The children is at their grandfather[3] and I am to. Ann died at her father. I was with her at the time she died on the 26. Mother I was glad to here from you and yours and to here that your helths was good.

Mother I cant any more at present. I dont feel able at presant. I will write a gain as soon as I can. I want you to write as soon as you can.

My love to you Both.

James H Crawford

[1] Ann (Rogers) Crawford

[2] Alice and Rollin Crawford, ages 5 and 1

[3] Thomas Rogers

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: October 30, 1858 letter to Nancy Betts from James Crawford – Letters to and from the Keith and Related Families

Leave a Reply

