July 26, 1864 letter to Sarah Keith from Luke Keith

July 26, 1864

To: Sarah Keith, Galesburg, MI

From: Charles Luke Keith Jr., De Pere, WI

Luke is in De Pere, Wisconsin, south of Green Bay where he is trying to sell bed bottoms. Robert accompanied him as far as Oshkosh, where they had dinner with Aunt Mary.

1864-07-26 1864-07-26B 1864-07-26env

Depere July 26, 1864

Sarah

I went to Depere Friday 22d. Robert[1] went to Oshkosh with me. We went to his Aunt Marys[2], took dinner. She went home with him. I put in one bottom[3] in Oshkosh. Took the cars[4] at eight in evening, got to Depere at eleven. Could not get any place to stop in Depere. Went out to Bernells, got there about one oclock in the night. Found King[5] there. They wer all well. I dont feel first rate but keep around. King wants to buy Fond Dulac County and what bottoms I have with me. I have twelve here. I told him what he could have it for. He has not told me yet whether he will take it or not. He likes them very well. I guess he will go into it. He says if he does he shall go in to make something out of it. He says there is mony in it. All the trouble would be would be to make them think they wanted them. He figures close. I wish you could get them magazines back. Perhaps you could get Mr. Bachelder to send them. He can find the number of the office some where in them. Direct to E. M. Stratton No. New York City. I have not ordered them, dont want them. I did not think he would send them without the money in advance as that has always been his way of doing business. I hope you are all well. Roberts folks wer well. You write me soon if you have any thing you wish to write as I may not be here long. I must be a doing when I can. I will let you know when I leave here and where to direct your letters. If you want some mony I will send you some. If I make a trade with King he will pay some down in Green Backs. The most of the money here is Wisconsin.

Have you had any new potatoes yet? Did you have any pees? Save some for seed if you can. If you get out of wheat perhaps Truman could pay that. When he does I wish he would take it to the mill and get it weighed out. Has Mary gone yet? How is Lysander Beach? Tell D. K. Rogers Ira is all right and has good beer(?).

Yours &c

C. L. Keith

[1] Robert Crawford, Sarah’s brother

[2] Presumably Mary (Comfort) Wickersham

[3] At one point, Luke spent quite a bit of time on the road selling “bed bottoms”, a form of rubberized bedsprings

[4] Train

[5] Luke’s cousin, James S. King

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: July 26, 1864 letter to Sarah Keith from Luke Keith – Letters & Diary Entries From the 1860s

Leave a Reply

