August 19, 1864 letter to Sarah Keith from Edwin Crawford

August 19, 1864

To: Sarah Keith

From: Edwin Crawford, Burlington, IA

He is railroading as usual. Spent a week with his family in Dowagiac. Mother was there too. Speaks of Mary. Mother has gone to Niles to visit Henry.

1864-08-19

Burlington Iowa          Augst 19th 1864

Dr Sister

It has been a long time sinse I have had a letter from you, and for fear I am in debt to you, I thought I would drop you a line to in form you that I am well and Rail Roading it as usual. I spent a week with my Family in Dowagiac the first of July, when Mother[1] come. We was all glad to see her and I think she enjoid herself well. I bid Mother & Mary[2] good by on Sunday morning July 10th and left them all well. Sinse I learned from Mary that Mother has gone to Niles to spend a week with Henrys[3] folks and then I expect she will come and stay to or three months with Mary. I have no news that would interest you. I suppose Luke[4] has gone to Wisconsin. I hope he may Do well with his Pattent Bed[5]. I hope these few Lines will find you and your Family enjoying good health. Give my respects to Luke and I will bib you good by for this time.

This is from your affectionate Brother

E.W. Crawford

[1] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[2] His wife, Mary (Hamilton) Crawford

[3] His brother, Henry Crawford

[4] Sarah’s husband, Charles Luke Keith Jr.

[5] At one point, Luke spent quite a bit of time on the road selling “bed bottoms,” a form of rubberized bedsprings

Leave a Reply

