January 30, 1865 letter to Luke Keith from Edwin Crawford

January 30, 1865

To: Charles Luke Keith Jr.

From: Edwin Crawford, Burlington, IA

Checking to see if Luke had put the spring beds in and if so to let him know and he will send the money but will do it on the sly. His health is good with the exception of his foot, which has given him a good deal of pain and trouble. The nail has come off causing him to hobble around. He thinks it will bother him all winter.

1865-01-30

Burlington Jan 30th 1865

Brother Luke

Dr Sir

I told Pros[1] to give you the size of my Bead Sted and Father Hamilton’s[2] when he went to your place and as I havent heard from him since I left home I thought I would write you a few lines to enquire of you wether you had put the spring Beds in and if you have or as soon as you put them in let me know and I will send you the money but do it on a sly.

My health is good with the exceptions of my Foot witch has give me a good deal of pain and trouble. The nail has come of and as I have to be hobling around it heals slow. I think it will bother me all winter. Give my Love to Mother[3] & Sister Sarah.

From your Brotherinlaw

E.W. Crawford

Foreman

at East Burlington Repair Shop

[1] His brother, Prosper Crawford

[2] His father-in-law, Patrick Hamilton

[3] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

Leave a Reply

