June 3, 1865 letter to Sarah Keith from D.C. Crawford

June 3, 1865

To: Sarah Keith

From: David (D.C.) Crawford, Golden City, CO

Enclosed a letter for Hiram, since his whereabouts are unknown to D.C. He does not hear from Sarah as often as he would wish.

1865-06-03

June 3/65

P S Direct Golden City, Colorado

Dear Sister Sarah

You will excuse me but I have not time to write this morning. Enclosed find letter for Hiram.[1] I do not know where he is. Please forward. I shall write soon. I have just written to Mother[2] at Dowagiac. Please let me hear from you. I am well “pro tem”[3] How is Luke[4] now? I do not hear from you as often as I would wish. I shall try and come and see you sometime. Love to all.

Your Brother

D C Crawford

[1] Brother, Hiram Crawford Jr.

[2] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[3] Latin term meaning “for the time being”

[4] Sarah’s husband, Charles Luke Keith Jr.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: June 3, 1865 letter to Sarah Keith from D. C. Crawford – Letters & Diary Entries From the 1860s

Leave a Reply

