September 17, 1867 letter to Sarah Keith from D.C. Crawford

September 17, 1867 

To: Sarah Keith 

From: David (D.C.) Crawford, Golden, CO

Prosper wrote him that Hiram had married. He, Hiram, has not favored D.C. with a letter or wedding card. So he will give Hiram the cold shoulder should D.C. get married, which he has not the least idea of doing. However, if he could get some good woman to share the ups and downs of life perhaps he might be happier. He is of a very contented disposition and as a general thing enjoys life, although he has had a great deal of bad luck during the past two years. Last month he was elected County Clerk for two years on the Republican ticket by a handsome majority.

1867-09-17 1867-09-17B 1867-09-17C 1867-09-17D

Golden City, Sept 17th/67

Dear Sister,

Your letter came to hand this morning and I assure you I was very much pleased to get a letter from you once more although you say I owe you a letter or two. I cannot understand how that can be for I know that I answered all letters that I ever received from any of our People, espicially as seldom get any with the exception of our Mother[1]. She generally writes me often. This “pen” goes just when it choses but I guess you can read it. I would like to accept of your invitation and take tea with you & Lois[2], but dont see how I can. Yes, Prosper[3] wrote me that Hiram[4] had married. He, Hiram, has not favored me with a letter or Wedding Card either. So I will give him the cold shoulder if I should get married which I assure you I have not the least idea of “pro tem”[5] although I believe I ought to and if could get some good woman to share with me the ups and downs of this life perhaps I might be happier, but I would have you know that I am of a very contented disposition and as a general thing enjoy life pretty well, although I have had a great deal of bad luck during the past two years, still I have always managed to retain a position equal with the best. I have at times controled a good business in this country then I would take to great chances and broke all up. Still I never get discouraged keep my head up and after awhile I am on my feet again. Last year I failed for “Fifteen Thousand Dollars.” I went clerking at the principle Hotel here and last month I was elected County Clerk of this County for two years on the Republican ticket by a hansome majority and am duly installed into office. You say I am thirty two years old. I assure you I do not feel so old and I know I do not look so old by five years. I am called about twenty five or “seven” pass for that as you say or allow some people do not grow old and I am one of those kind. I will send you one of my “Photographs” and you can judge for yourself although it is not very good. I never can get a good one. My eyes are rather to light. Now about going to see you, I cannot promise, but will go and see you as soon as I can on Mothers account. I should like to go soon but my business is in such a shape I have to go slow, but will as I said before will go just as soon as I can and pay you all a visit. Please write me soon. Love to All.

D.C.C.

Lois, your “Ma” may be putting on still about her new sister and may be expecting one in Colorado but she will get fooled for a while at least, Lois. My regards and may write you sometime.

D.C. Crawford

[1] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[2] Lois Keith, Charles Luke Keith Jr.’s daughter by his first marriage, and Sarah’s stepdaughter

[3] Lucius Prosper Crawford, D.C.’s youngerst brother

[4] Hiram Crawford Jr., D.C.’s younger brother, who married Katherine Atchinson in 1867

[5] Latin term meaning “for the time being”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: September 17, 1867 letter to Sarah Keith from D. C. Crawford – Letters & Diary Entries From the 1860s

Leave a Reply

