December 9, 1867 letter to Sarah Keith from Nancy Betts

December 9, 1867

To: Sarah Keith

From: Nancy Betts, Omro, WI

Felt very glad to receive a letter from Sarah and to hear that all were well. Talks about her washing chores. Nancy had received a letter from Kate, Hiram’s new wife. Describes Prosper’s trip to Chicago to find work so that they can afford their rent.

1867-12-09 1867-12-09B

December 9th 1867

Omro, WI

Dear daughter Sarah,

I received your letter last satter day and was glad to hear from you again. I have answerd evry letter I received from you for three months and one over. I have ben looking for a letter from you this three weekes and have felt quite unease about you for fear you or som of your famly was sick and have felt very glad to received a letter from you and to hear that you are all well. I hope you will find som good place that will make you a permanent home. Not very large place for Luke[1] is not abel to worke a large place. Tell Jimme[2] if he will will come out to Omro to see granma with ma and Sissa[3] I will give him the littel dog and sis the littel jug. I do wan to see you all very much. I have ben washing to day. I had a large washing. I have not wash in two weeks befour till now. I had to chop the ice out of a barl. It was hard work for me. I am a writing to you but am fealing very tired. I have received a letter from Hiram[4] wife[5]. She writs a good letter and very warm harted for a stranger. Pros[6] has gon to Chicago, has ben gon a weeke. I have not heard from him sence. I expect a letter from from him evry day. He has gon thear to get in some kind of work. Hiram wrote to him to com out thear and he would get him in some bissness. He thought he could not go to the woods and I new if he did not get in som kind of work we could not pay rent and make a living. I persuaded him to write to Hiram to see if he couldent find hime somthing to do in the shape of work out thear. So he made up his mind at last and wrote to Hiram and he wrote back for him to com right along and he would get him in som bissness. My health is quite good at present. I received a letter from Hiram two weekes ago and he said he had written to you but hav not received no answer and one from David[7]. I think he said so to he was well. He wants to com home bad but he did not say when he would com. In Henry[8] last letter he complained that he had written to you but you had not answerd it. We have had som purty cold wether but it has moderrated today. It seams quite a change in the wether. Write as often as you can. It is quite consoling to get a letter from any of my children. My love to you and Luke, Eathen[9] and the girls[10]. Kiss Sis and Jimme for me for your mother.

To Sarah C. Keith

Nancy B. Betts

[1] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

[2] Jim Keith, Sarah’s son

[3] Louese Keith, Sarah’s daughter. She was often referred to as Sis

[4] Hiram Crawford Jr., Nancy’s son

[5] Katherine (Atchinson) Crawford, Nancy’s new daughter-in-law

[6] Lucius Prosper Crawford, Nancy’s youngest son

[7] David Caleb (D.C.) Crawford, Nancy’s son

[8] Henry Crawford, Nancy’s son

[9] Ethan Keith, Sarah’s son

[10] Nancy and Hannah Keith, Sarah’s daughters

Leave a Reply

