May 3, 1868 letter to Sarah Keith from Henry Crawford

May 3, 1868

To: Sarah Keith

From: Henry Crawford, Niles, MI

Henry has been away from home for the last four weeks engaged in the roofing business. He visited Mary this spring. Eugene runs the machinery and won’t go to school or do anything else. He was in Niles with a lot of boys last week. He came over to the house about dark, stayed a short time then went home. Henry was not at home at the time.

1868-05-03 1868-05-03B 1868-05-03C

Niles    May 3de 1868

Dear Sister,

I returned home last evening. I have been away from home for the last four weekes the most of the time. I am going again this afternoon to Mishawaka Indiana. I have some roofs to put on. I would like to se Ethens[1] Couplin[2]. I hope it is a good thing, for any thing of that kind would be a big thing for him. Thar is a man here that is an Inventer. He is a good Mechanic & has Pattented severale different things. I will show it to him & will let you know what he thinks.

I will be at home the last of this week so you can send it so it will be here when I get home. I am in the roofing business & will be away from home the most of the time this summer. I suppose you feele at home now since you bought the old place. I think you done well. That is better then going in the woods. I am sorry to hear that mother[3] health is so poore. I wish she could content her selfe with us. She could stay with me as long as she could make her selfe at home if she has a mind to. I must write her this week.

I was up to Marys[4] this spring. She was feeling she said well. Ugene[5] runs the machine. He wont go to chool nor do any thing else. He was in Niles with a lot of Boys last week. He came over to the Hous about dark, stayd a short time then went home. I was not at home at the time. I have not heard from Hiram[6] since the first of last month. I received a paper from David[7] last week.

My family is all well at presant. We unite in sending our love to you all.

Your Brother

H C Crawford

[1] Ethan Keith, Sarah’s son

[2] Ethan was an inventor in later years and appears to have been inventive even at the age of 17. In 1870 Ethan, along with his future brother-in-law Henry Brown, patented an “Improvement in Coupling-Jacks.” Perhaps this is the “couplin” he was working on

[3] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[4] Mary (Hamilton) Crawford, brother Edwin’s widow

[5] Edwin’s son by his first wife Louisa (Hall) Crawford, almost 13 years of age

[6] Hiram Crawford Jr., Henry’s brother

[7] David Caleb (D.C.) Crawford, Henry’s brother

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: May 3, 1868 letter to Sarah Keith from Henry Crawford – Letters & Diary Entries From the 1860s

Leave a Reply

