February 3, 1870 letter to Sarah Keith from Nancy Betts

February 3, 1870

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Nancy Betts, Omro, WI

Eugene went to the Pinery last week. She has not heard from him or Prosper since he went away. The last letter received from the boys indicated they were all well. She doesn’t get any letters from Henry. She hadn’t received but one since he was visiting Sarah. Robert is in the Woods. His wife had a letter from him the other day. Eugene heard from Pros before he went away.  They are in the same camp about sixty miles from here and they have to work for low wages.

1870-02-03 1870-02-03B 1870-02-03C 1870-02-03D

Omro Febuary the 3 1870

Dear Daughter Sarah,

I take my pen in hand to adress a few lines to you all though I have nothing if inportence to write to. Only that my health is quite good for me at present. I feal that God is good to me. He has spaired my life and has giving me good health when menny of age has ben cut down and _____ to the towne wheare as I am yet spaird. The Lord is mersafull to us all allthough we don’t appreciate his goodness to us as we ought to. Eugean[1] whent to the Pinery last weeke. I have not heard from him nor Prosper [2] sence he whent away. The last letter I had from the boys they whare all well. I dont get any letters from Henry[3]. I havent received but one sence he was out to your place. Robert[4] is in the Woods. His wife[5] had letter from him the other day. He was well. Eugene heard from Pros before he whent a way. He was well. They are in the same camp about sixty miles from here. They have to work for low wages and have thear board in. We are having a nice winter. Good slighing and plesent wether. We have som sickness and deaths but no prevailing decease. Tell Luke[6] that Mr John E Hunger of Omro, formly superintendent of schools died at his residence January the 23. He had formly lived neare the junction on the road to Oshkosh neare the Odd Fellows Hall of wich he was a member of that Boddy. He if you relect lived in a brown hous on the left hand side a going from Omro to Oshkosh. The Methodest and Baptist have commence a protracted Meeting. I have ben very ansous about Nancy[7]. I hope she is better. I hope thease few lines will you all in good health. I received a letter from Sister Jane[8] a short time ago. She injoys good health. Answer this soon when when you received it. My love to you all. I have ben looking for a letter this some time from you. I wanto heare from Nancy. I hope she is bette. This is from your Mother.

N B Betts

[1] Eugene Crawford, Nancy’s grandson

[2] Lucius Prosper Crawford, Nancy’s youngest son

[3] Henry Clay Crawford, Nancy’s son

[4] Robert Crawford, Nancy’s son

[5] Louisa (McCann) Crawford

[6] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

[7] Nancy Keith, Sarah’s daughter

[8] Nancy’s sister, Jane (Comfort) Nelles Sunderlin

Leave a Reply

