February 21, 1872 letter to Sarah Keith from Hiram Crawford Jr.

February 21, 1872

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Hiram Crawford Jr., Chicago, IL

Sends his sympathy to Sarah regarding the general ill health of her family and the financial strain it seems to be causing. He is well as is his son Harry. Kate is not feeling well and is taking medicines for kidney, liver and “complaints too numerous to mention.” Hasn’t heard from Henry since he was out there, therefore, doesn’t know why they didn’t visit Sarah.

Scan of 1872-02-21 Hiram Crawford to Sarah Keith

Chicago Feb 21 1872

Dear Sister

Your letter was received today. We were very glad to hear that the health of yourself, and family was improving. I know of no family that has suffered with long, and continual sickness, as yours have and I don’t wonder that you should feel discouraged. Ill health, of any great duration, of one alone in a family is enough to make misery plenty, but when a whole family is stricken, money gone, and actual want comes in, then I think the cup is full to overflowing. How you have got through all of this trouble so far and how you can write as cheerful as you do with your present and future before you, is more than I can understand. I presume that twenty years ago, nobody could have made you believe that you would have been strong enough to have gone through with what you have. When we were out there three years ago Luke[1] was in tolerable good health, the girls feeling pretty well and Eathan[2] I supposed was perfetly well, any of us little dreamed of the trials that was to come upon you. I sincerely hope and trust that the worst of them are over, and that you and yours will at least be restored to health. After that a living is comparatively easy.

Harry[3] and myself enjoy good health. Kate[4] complains most of the time is taking medicine continually for the Kidneys and Liver and other complaints too numerous to mention. I don’t see as it does her much good yet. If she feels better in one spot she is worse in another. Harry is quite a boy, so much so that he runs the house pretty much. I haven’t heard from Henry[5] since I was out there, therefore don’t know why they didn’t visit you. I received a letter from Mother[6] the other day thanking me for a five dollar bill. She was as well as usual. Kate joins with me in love to you all and trusting that the future will be brighter.

I am affectly your Broth

H. Crawford

430 N. Clark St.

Enclosed find five (5) dollars. I only wish it was five hundred.

H E

[1] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

[2] Ethan Keith, Sarah’s son

[3] Harry Crawford, Hiram’s son

[4] Katherine (Atcheson) Crawford, Hiram’s wife

[5] Henry Crawford, brother of Sarah and Hiram

[6] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: February 21, 1872 letter to Sarah Keith from Hiram Crawford Jr. – Letters & Diary Entries From the 1860s & 1870s

Leave a comment