March 24, 1872 letter to Sarah Keith from D.C. Crawford

March 24, 1872

To:  Sarah Keith

From: D.C. Crawford, Golden, CO

Glad to hear that Sarah is more cheerful and that her prospects seem brighter. The last portion of the letter is missing.

1872-03-24

Golden, Colorado, March 24, 1872[1]

My Dear Sister Sarah,

Yours of 15th is before me. I assure you it gives me great pleasure to read your letter as it does not contain such a gloomy account as formerly but you are more cheerful and prospects seem brighter for you all. You speak of having worn out the climate and would like to change. This climate is reccommended as good for asthmatics or consumptives, in the latter only in first stages. After they have been sick sometime they seem to suffer more here but generally the Country is considered healthy but still we seem to have just as much sickness here as elsewhere for what I know. And just as hard to get along. Still I believe if I was Luke[2] if I could sell out I would try Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas or Oregon, some place anywhere just for a change. It might be for the best. Still

[the rest of the letter is missing]

[1] On the letterhead of “Crawford & Boyd, Real Estate Brokers, Conveyancers”

[2] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

Leave a Reply

