November 4, 1872 letter to Nancy Brown from Alice Crawford

November 4, 1872

To:  Nancy Brown

From: Alice Crawford, Glen Haven, WI

Has been away for several weeks which explains why it has taken her a while to respond to Nancy’s last letter. Has received letters from Nancy, her grandmother, and Eugene. Not sure whether this letter should be addressed to Miss Keith or Mrs. Brown.

1872-11-04 1872-11-04B

Glen Haven  Nov 4th 1872

Dear Cousin Nancy

It has been so long since I received your last kind letter that I fear you will think I have forgotten you or otherwise willfully neglected you but such is not the case. I have been away from home for several weeks. I am staying with a lady by the name of Mrs Kaufman. I was home yesterday but came back in the evening. It has been snowing here to day for the first time this fall.

I received a letter from Grandma[1] three weeks since which I haveent answered yet, also one from Eugene[2] containg Grandma’s likeness and his own. I think they both are quite good looking. I would like to have yours and Aunts[3] so much. I will have my likeness taken as soon as the river freeze over and then I will send you one. I scarcely know whether to direct my letter to Miss Keith or Mrs Brown[4] but I will choose the former for I have not as yet seen any announcement of your marriage. You had better come out here on a wedding tour and make me a visit. Wisconsin air is bracing this time in the year. It would be good for your health. Well Cousin I will have to stop writing for I left my note paper at home and this is all I have here. Now please dont be offended with me but write as soon as you can conviently and let me know how you are getting along. Good night. My love to you all. From your cousin.

Alice N. Crawford

[1] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[2] Eugene Crawford, the son of Edwin and Louisa Crawford

[3] Sarah (Crawford) Keith

[4] Nancy married Henry Brown on October 5, 1872

Leave a Reply

