April 10, 1874 letter to Sarah Keith from Nancy Betts

April 10, 1874

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Nancy Betts, Omro, WI

Her health is quite good this spring; has been taking the electric health restorer. D.C. sent his photograph in a splendid frame and sent Robert and Prosper a photograph each in a smaller size. Robert has trouble with rheumatism a good deal of the time, but his family is well. Received a letter from Eugene a short time ago. Received a letter from David to say that Amanda joined the Episcopal Church. Hiram wrote that they were all well, that they had a dreadful snowstorm a week ago and that Clem Crawford had visited and stayed two days. Edna is still going to school in Oshkosh. They want her to be a teacher. Willie is almost as tall as his father.

1874-04-10 1874-04-10B 1874-04-10C 1874-04-10D

Omro     April 10th 1874[1]

My Dear Daughter

I receive your kind letter and was glad to hear from you and yours. I hope these few lines will find you all in good health. My health is quite good this spring. I have ben taking the Electric health Restorer a Jerman Remedy to cure Dyspepsia and palpatation of heart. It has help me the most of any thing that I hav ever to taking. DC[2] my son sent me his Photograph in a splendid fraime and sent Robert[3] and Prosper[4] each one only a photograph a smaller sise. Robert is troble with the rheumatism a goodeal of the time. His famly is well. The last heard from Prospers folks they was well. I received aletter from Eugene[5] short time ago. He was a gon a way but said he would write a gain before he whent. I received aletter from David to say that Amanda[6] was Baptise and join the a Episcopal Church a short time a go. They they where only the baby. She was quite un well a cutting her theeth and one from Hiram[7]. They wher all well. He said about a week they had a dredfull snow storm. Clem Crawford[8] had ben out there and staid two days. They where all well. The ice is out of the Fox river but boats has not began to run yet. We are having very plesent wether now. The roads is quite dusty. The frost is mostly out of the ground and it is very dry. Som folks has comments a making gardings [commenced making gardens?]. Edna[9] is still agoing school at Oshkosh. The wanto make a teacher of her. Wille[10] is most as tall as his Father. They say he is quite good in figuers. He is a gon to keep tally for his Father this summer. Tell Lousia and Jenne[11] I would like to write to them but I cant do it. I have so meny letters to write. It is quite a task for me.

When I commence this letter I made cuch work I thought I would have to put it a way but I wanted to send it to day so I keep at it tille I finshed it. If you can read it then it will be all right. Write soon and tell all of the news. So I will close. My love to you all.

From your Mother

to S C Keith     N B Betts

[1] It is hard to make out the year; however, it could be 1878

[2] David Crawford

[3] Nancy’s son, Robert Crawford

[4] Lucius Prosper Crawford, Nancy’s youngest son

[5] Nancy’s grandson, Eugene Crawford

[6] D.C.’s wife, Amanda (Thornton) Crawford

[7] Hiram Crawford Jr., Nancy’s son

[8] Robert Clement Crawford, the second eldest son of Henry & Virginia (Worley) Crawford

[9] Edna Crawford, Robert’s daughter

[10] William Crawford, Robert’s son

[11] Presumably Robert’s wife, Louisa (McCann), and Henry’s wife, Virginia

Leave a Reply

