September 26, 1875 letter to Sarah Keith from Robert Crawford

September 26, 1875

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Robert Crawford, Omro, WI

Louisa has gone to Minnesota to visit her folks. He expects her home this week after an absence of three weeks. Mother is getting along about as usual. She cannot keep a cent of money. Will has been coughing this summer and we are getting alarmed about him.

1875-09-26 1875-09-26B 1875-09-26C

Omro Sept 26/75

Dear Sister

I hear from you occasionally by the way of Mother[1] and I thought as I had some leisure moments I would pencil a few lines to you. We are all well. Louesa[2] has gone to Minnesota to visit her folks[3]. Her sister Cynthia Mrs Long[4] went out with her. We re’d letters last eveing from them and expect them home this week after an absence of 3 weeks. I have been engaged at River Work this season but I have not done as well as usual as the Lumbering Business is quite dull this season.

I should like to have come out to Mich this fall but but I dont see my way clear. Money is not plenty here and it is hard to collect but if I live will try and come another fall. I should like to see you Sarah and your Family. It would give me pleasure and to see the old burg[5] and some of my old Friends. I send you my photo. Mabe that will do some good. Sarah you see that I am getting old but I cannot help that. Mother is getting along about as usual. She cannot keep a cent of money. She had a spare dollar the other day went a bought a map of Washington. Her health is quite good. I wish you could come out and see her and us, you and Luke[6]. How is Ethan[7] now? Our Will[8] has been coughing this summer and we are getting alarmed about him but we got some medicin for him and he has got about over it. Please to write Sister and mabe I will find something to write when Louesa comes back. Accept our regard and love to you Sister & Family.

From your affectionate Bro

Robt Crawford

[1] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[2] Robert’s wife, Louisa (McCann) Crawford

[3] John and Rachel McCann

[4] Cynthia (McCann) Long, Louisa’s sister

[5] Galesburg, Michigan

[6] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

[7] Ethan Keith, Sarah and Luke’s son

[8] Robert’s son

Leave a Reply

