November 17, 1875 letter to Sarah Keith from Nancy Betts

November 17, 1875

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Nancy Betts, Omro, WI

Received a letter from Hiram. He said that Harry’s lungs were so bad they had to take him to Sarah’s. Nancy Brown wrote that Aunt Kate and Harry had been there and Harry appeared better. Went to Winneconne to visit Prosper and family. Bell is looking quite well. Leo is a smart little fellow but full of mischief. His other son runs all over and says some words. His name is Lucius Byron. Received a letter from Alice. She doesn’t like Oregon as much as Wisconsin nor does her brother.

1875-11-17 1875-11-17B

Omro Novem the 17, 1875

My Dear Daughter

I take my pen in hand to answer your kind letter. I was glay to hear from you all and to hear that you injoy usual good health. I received a letter from Hiram[1]. He said that Harry[2] lungs was so bad they was a blige to take him out of the City so Kate[3] toke him to your place and he heard he was gititing better and I received a letter from Nancy Brown[4] and she wrote that Ma[5] and Aunt Kate and Harry had ben there and maid her viset and Harry apeard to be getting better. I havent I havent received any from DC[6] this month yet but the last I received he said Amanda[7] dont like the Hotell bissness and thought som of selling ought if he had a good chance. He like it well. They where all well then and like wise one from son Henry[8]. They whare all well as usual and thought if he could spare the monny he would make us a viset the last of this month. I hope he will com but I dont much expect him. I went to Winneconne last week to viset Prosper[9] an famly. Found them all well. Bell[10] is looking quite well. She has grown quite fleshy sence her sickness. Leo[11] is a smart littel fellow but a very full of mishchief. The second one run all over and sais som words. His name is Leuchus Biron[12]. They have a very comfortabel home and Bell is a very good houskeeper. Lousea[13] and famly is well. Robert[14] whent away last week to be gone the most part of the winter. Wille[15] is a going when it comes sleighing. I have forgotten the name of the place but most a hundred miles from here.

I received letter from Alice[16]. She said she dont like Orgon as well as Wisconson nor does her brother[17] but think they may when they get better aquainted with the peopel. Nancy Brown said they where all well and her baby was we think the smartest littel fellow there is and grate compana to me. My health is better sence I have ben taking th August flower. I will send Ethen[18] a coppy of it. You did not tell wether he got the medeson so I thot I will send him this circurlar. I think it mite cure him. He is young. Tell Hannah[19] I wish when she gets marrid that her and her man come out to Omro on a weding tour to see her granmother [and] uncels. Tell Jimme[20] to write to me and I will answer it. Tell Lousea[21] that Kit[22] sais she will write wen she can get her picture takeing. I hope Harry will get well so Kitte can go home with him for Hiram sais he dont wanto live a wider all winter. Give my love to Kitty and Harry. I want to see you very much. Tell Luke[23] that I say I wish that he and you would muster up monny and courage aknough to come and make us a visit. O how glad I would be to see both. Please except of my love for your self and famly. Excuse all misstakes and bad spelling. I mus close. Write soon again and write plain. I am very nerves and tired.

From your mother

N B Betts

[1] Hiram Crawford Jr., Nancy’s son

[2] Harry Crawford, Hiram’s seven year old son

[3] Katherine (Atchinson) Crawford, Hiram’s wife

[4] Nancy (Keith) Brown, Sarah’s daughter

[5] She is referring to Sarah Keith

[6] David Caleb (D.C.) Crawford, Nancy’s son

[7] Amanda (Thornton) Crawford, D.C.’s wife

[8] Henry Clay Crawford, Nancy’s son

[9] Lucius Prosper Crawford, Nancy’s youngest son

[10] Isabella (Steele) Crawford, Pros’ wife

[11] Pros’ son

[12] Pros’ son, Lucius Byron Crawford

[13] Louisa (McCann) Crawford, Robert’s wife

[14] Robert Crawford, Nancy’s son

[15] Robert’s son

[16] Alice Crawford, Nancy’s granddaughter and orphan daughter of James H. Crawford

[17] Rollin Crawford

[18] Ethan Keith, Sarah’s son

[19] Hannah Keith, Sarah’s daughter

[20] James Keith, Sarah’s son

[21] Louese Keith, Sarah’s daughter

[22] Believe this to be Katherine Sarah “Kit” Crawford, Robert’s daughter

[23] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

Leave a Reply

