June 7, 1876 letter to Nancy Betts from Robert Crawford

June 7, 1876

To:  Nancy Betts

From: Robert Crawford, Omro, WI

Robert has just returned from the Boom and is going away in the morning. Saw Prosper this evening. He is going to work on the Boom also.

1876-06-07 1876-06-07B

Omro June 7 1876

Dear Mother

I am very busy just now and not much time to write. I am just down from the Boom[1] and am going away in the morning. We are all well. Saw Prosper[2] this evening. He is going to work on the Boom. His folks are all well. I made out to make a turn so I got that of Ed Harms which is $7.00. I will send som for my self in a few days. Money is so hard to get now that I cannot do as I would like. We send our love to you and Sarah[3] & Family.

From your affectionate Son

Robt Crawford

Please write soon

[1] Bay Boom was where the lumber companies sorted out their lumber

[2] Lucius Prosper Crawford, Robert’s brother

[3] Sarah (Crawford) Keith, Robert’s sister

Leave a Reply

