October 1, 1876 letter to Sarah Keith from Robert Crawford

October 1, 1876

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Robert Crawford, Omro, WI

Robert writes that Louisa is getting her strength again but her lungs are still quite weak. His daughter, Lulu, is growing. Robert hopes that Mother is contented now that she is living with Hiram in Chicago but he is afraid that Hiram’s wife, Kate, and Mother will have difficulty getting along. He feels that it is likely that Mother will move to Omro in the spring. If she does Robert will do his best for her but he feels that she will not be contented.

 1876-10-01 1876-10-01B

Omro Oct 1, 1876

Dear Sister

I received your very welcome letter last week and was pleased to hear from you again. We are all quite well at present. Louisa[1] is getting her strength again but her lungs are quite weak. Baby[2] is growing finely. I suppose that Mother[3] is contented now as she is living with Hiram[4] in Chicago but I am afraid the Devil will be to pay before another spring for I dont think that Kate[5] and Mother will agree that long but they may. I hope so for Mother is so discontented. How long did Mother stay with you Sarah? Are you sufficiently paid? Write me particulars as Mother has been writing to me to send money to her now as she was living with Hiram. I will send you $2.00 Sarah for I believe it is your due and more if it is necessary. It is very dull here and I have been out of work a month nearly. Expect to go in the Pinery this winter if I get a chance. I know you have a struggle to get along Sarah and I mean to do all that I can and I had hoped that Mother would have been contented to have stayed with you. We would have known just what to do. It is very likely that Mother will come here in the spring. If she does we will do the best we can for her but she would not be contented.

Well Sarah I will close now by wishing you all well and our love and regards to you and your family.

Write as soon as you receive and oblige.

Your affectionate Bro

R Crawford

[1] Robert’s wife, Louisa (McCann) Crawford

[2] Robert and Louisa’s daughter, Lulu, who was born July 22, 1876

[3] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[4] Robert’s brother, Hiram Crawford Jr.

[5] Hiram’s wife, Katherine (Atchinson) Crawford

Leave a Reply

