January 19, 1877 letter to Sarah Keith and Nancy Betts from Henry Crawford

January 19, 1877

To:  Sarah Keith & Nancy Betts, Galesburg, MI

From: Henry Crawford, South Bend, IN

Henry is sending a brief note along with $2.50. The shop reopened on the 2nd, but it was so cold during the first week that not much was done. The children have not been well. Henry hopes to visit his mother in the spring.

1877-01-19 1877-01-19B 1877-01-19env

South Bend, Ind.     Jan 19 1877

Sister & Mother

You will pleas except a few lines written with my thumless hand. I cant write with my pen as yet but I guess you can read this for it wont be very long. Every thing is about the same with us as when I was with you. The children are not well. The factory started up the 2d of this month. It was so cold the first week that we did not do much but I have order for thre hundred set wheels per week & more if I can mak them. Mother as soon as spring comes I am going to send for you & as long as you feel like staying we will mak it pleasant for you.

$2.50

You will find two ___

Our love to all

H.C.C.

Leave a Reply

