November 15, 1878 letter to Sarah Keith from Hiram Crawford Jr.

November 15, 1878

To:  Sarah Keith

From: Hiram Crawford Jr., Chicago, IL

Hiram is writing to Sarah about the difficulties they are encountering with their Mother regarding living arrangements.

1878-11-15 1878-11-15B

V.C. Turner, Pres’t.
H. Crawford, Treas.
North Chicago City Railway Co.
Office, 430 North Clark Street,
Chicago, Nov 15th 1878

Dear Sister

I dont want you to think because I have not answered your letter sooner that you have not my sympathies in your trials – for I assure you that you have, in the fullest sense. I was very much discouraged, for Mother[1] promised me faithfully that she wouldnt say any thing about what had taken place and would begin her new way of living without any further trouble or talk – but she was so full that she had to blow off and perhaps it don her good for I recevd a letter from her yesterday in which she spoke a good word for all of you. Said that you Nancy[2], Henry[3] and the neighbors was very good to her, so I am in hopes that she has commenced an era of good feeling towards all the human race. I would like to hav you keep me posted as to the true state of her affair, occasionaly. I don’t know how much it is going to take to keep her economecly. Don’t want to give her to much but would like her to have enough. Wish you would giv me your idea.

Just one remark abot that ever memorable “Room“. Before she left I told her I was going to give you what we had put into it and after receiving your letter I wrote her that with the consent of the Boys[4] I had given you absolutely all of our interest in that Room to do with as you saw fit and that she nor anybody else had no rights then whatsoever and that I wanted her to distictly understand it. As for you I don’t want you to entertain any foolish feelings about it. It is yours absolutely and frely given as a very small compensation for shouldering the burden which you have during the past six years. Of course Sarah this is all confidential but for your satisfaction and information I will say that the remark about us wanting her to stay here was an “Error“. It was about the only thing in which I had my way and from the first I told her that under no circumstance could she stay here this winter.

Your Brother H Crawford

[1] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[2] Nancy (Keith) Brown, Sarah’s daughter

[3] Henry Brown, Nancy’s husband

[4] Hiram is referring to his brothers

Leave a Reply

