January 10, 1881 letter to Nancy Betts from Mary Wickersham

January 10, 1881

To: Nancy Betts

From: Mary Wickersham, Waukegan, IL

Was glad to hear Nancy was better and her life spared. Most of the letter was praising Jesus. Her health has been better than it was in the fall.

1881-01-10 1881-01-10B

Ill Waukegan Jan. 10/81

My dear Sister

Your ever kind and welcome letter was received by me in propper time bringing the good news to me that you were better and when I comsidered it was your own hand wrote it I could see how mercifully the Lord had dealt with you to restore you so spedely and give you strength to write to me. I fell down on my knees before my God and gave thanks to Him for the mercies bestowed on you in sparing your life and raising you again from a bed of sickness. Let us give Him all the glory for that and all other mercies and consecrate ourselfs truly and sincerely anew the begining of this year. Our time is short here, not many years left for us if any. We may not live to see the end of this, if half of it. Let us see to it that we are ready, having our house in order, our hearts right through faith in the cleansing blood of Jesus, and our Lamps trimed and burning, watching for the call to go home to the mansions prepared for those that love Him. Oh I want to be like Jesus, transformed to His heavenly Image, having a pure heart, poor in spirit will lost in His passive in His hands as a child weaned of its mother. My health is better than it was in the fall. I applied to a Physician. She gave me prescriptons for medicine twice. Been better since with treatment for my head and throat. Weather verry cold part of the time. No snow, once an inch and half. Some sickness. Many quite sudden deaths. Week of prayer past. No additions to the churches. Mrs How sends love. My love to you dear Sister, to Sarah[1] and family. Write again.

M W Wickersham

[to] N B Betts

PS thanks for all kindness


[1] Sarah (Crawford) Keith, Nancy’s daughter

Leave a Reply

