May 18, 1882 letter to Sarah Keith from D.C. Crawford

May 18, 1882

To: Sarah Keith, Galesburg, MI

From: D.C. Crawford, Fairplay, CO

D.C. writes that he had received a telegram from Edna Allen that her mother had died. He is concerned about Edna’s ability to handle her new responsibilities and doesn’t think that her husband will be of any help.

1882-05-18 1882-05-18B 1882-05-18env

D.C. Crawford,                                                 W. S. Lafferty,
CLERK.                                                           DEPUTY.
OFFICE OF
County Clerk and Register of Deeds.
PARK COUNTY, COLORADO

Fairplay, May 18” 1882

Dear Sister

I have been failing to write to you daily for sometime. I know I am neglectful and will try and be more prompt if possible.

Dear Mother[1] wrote me in answer to one I wrote her. At that time I was quite busy and hearing through her that you were usually well. I of course allowed my memory to fail me. I receivd a telegram from Edna[2] that her mother[3] was no more. Oh, how will she do now poor girl. She was one of the many poor girls that never appreciated home and an indulgent mother. Our poor “Job.”[4] What will ever become of him?

If this man Allen[5] was a business man and trusty it would not be so bad but now Edna has the whole responsibility upon her and is she equal to the emergency? I think not. Now Eugene[6] is a good business man. I should think she would call him to her assistence and thereby do a kindly and sisterly act. Eugene is her half brother. She is able & he is poor. I hope she will. Cannot you have some influence with her in this matter? This man Allen is rather a fast man if such & such are true. I hope he has become more in harmony with good society of late. We are all usually well and send love to you one & all. Please say to Mother will write soon & hope she is well for her. Love to her.

Your Broth

D C Crawford

Please excuse this writing & after reading it destroy it as maybe I have said to much about Allen.

DC

[1] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[2] Edna (Crawford) Allen, daughter of Edwin and Mary (Hamilton) Crawford

[3] Mary (Hamilton) Crawford died April 24, 1882 in Dowagiac, Michigan

[4] Believe D.C. is referring to Edna’s half-brother, Eugene

[5] Edna’s husband, Oscar Allen

[6] Eugene Crawford, son of Edwin and his first wife, Louisa (Hall) Crawford

Leave a Reply

