June 24, 1883 letter to Sarah Keith from Robert Crawford

June 24, 1883

To: Sarah Keith

From: Robert Crawford, Omro, WI

Robert is thanking Sarah for her letter of sympathy. It is hard for Robert to believe that his wife Louisa is gone, but it is also a relief for she had suffered so much. Robert describes the last few months of her life and the funeral service that they had for her.

1883-06-24 1883-06-24B 1883-06-24C

Omro June 24 1883

Dear Sister Sarah,

Your kind and sympathetic letter I recd yesterday on my return from the Boom. I could hardly realize at first when Louise[1] died that she was gone but since that time the girls[2] have gone out to their Aunt, the house is shut up and I miss her for she was always there when I came home. But when she died, Sister and Brother, it was a relief to me for she suffered so much and was so patient to bear it. I was at home the most of the time for the last five months of her life and took care of her the latter part of the night and she talked to me a great deal about the children and of herself. She wished me to keep the girls together and Lizzie to keep house and I would have a home and they would and I am going to do it. Everything was done in harmony with her wish at the funeral. She wanted Elder Baleck to make a few remarks at the funeral and the Misses Drew[?] to sing and to have the services at the house. It was so. I would like to come to Chicago if Mother[3] comes out there but I am so fearfully behind, or in other words in debt, with all of this sickness and expense attending it that I cant go and my business is just booming now and I must attend to it. But Sister tell Mother Dear I hope to see her again before long to and now my love to you Sister and your and Mother and regard to inquiring friends.

From your affectionate Brother

Robt Crawford

[1] Louisa (McCann) Crawford, Robert’s wife, died June 8, 1883. According to the 1880 census, Louisa had consumption and was “unable to attend to normal business or duties” as she was “maimed, crippled, bedridden, or otherwise disabled”

[2] Presume he was referring to his three youngest daughters who were still living at home, Melissa (Lizzie), who was 21, Cynthia, age 13, and Lulu, age 6

[3] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

Leave a Reply

