January 4, 1902 letter to Sarah Keith from Robert Crawford

January 4, 1902

To: Sarah Keith, Galesburg, MI

From: Robert Crawford, Neenah, WI

Robert is writing Sarah to see how she is getting along. He has not heard from Henry or Hiram recently, but understood that Prosper had remarried.

Neenah Jan 4″ 1902

Dear Sister Sarah

I have not heard from you in some time and thought that I would write you a few lines this morning. I am usually well, but cough some yet. Dont expect to get much better till some time in the Spring. Edna[1] and family are usually well, but she has a cold. Feels better this morning. I have not heard from Hiram[2] in quite a while. I dont suppose that Kate[3] has returned yet. I would like to know how they were. I must write to Hiram. Well Sister dear, how do you get along. I hope that you are no worse or Luke[4]. I had an opportunity to go in to the Pinery to locate logs, but declined and thought it best for me to stay near the fire this winter.

I just wrote to Mrs Lou Harris[5]. Hope they are well. I wrote Nancy[6] about the time they were moving from Hoyne ave[7] but have not heard from her. I want you Sarah to send me her address when you write me. I wrote to Henry[8] about Thanksgiving but have not heard from him. L.P.C.[9] I suppose has jumped the Broom Stick[10] by what I have heard. Incidentally now there will be a chance for Belle[11] if that is the case. Sister, I for one dont blame him though I think that Pros was not perfection by any means. With regards & love to you and yours. I remain your affectionate Brother.

Robt Crawford

 

[1] Edna (Crawford) Henry Tullar, Robert’s daughter

[2] Hiram Crawford Jr., Robert’s brother

[3] Katherine (Atchinson) Crawford, Hiram’s wife

[4] Charles Luke Keith Jr., Sarah’s husband

[5] Sarah’s daughter, Louese (Keith) Harris

[6] Nancy (Keith) Brown, Sarah’s daughter

[7] Hoyne Avenue in Chicago, Illinois

[8] Henry Clay Crawford, Robert’s brother

[9] Lucius Prosper Crawford, Robert’s youngest brother

[10] Pros married Laura Hands September 30, 1901

[11] Pros’ first wife, Isabella (Steele) Crawford. She and Pros divorced sometime around 1900

Leave a Reply

