July 25, 1902 letter to Sarah Keith from Angelina Lacey

July 25, 1902

To: Sarah Keith, Galesburg, MI

From: Angelina Lacey, Flushing, MI

Sympathizes on loss of loved ones. Hannah Comfort and her sister live in St. Catharines, Ontario, with their brother, Dr. John. He’s a widower. She wants to know if Hiram is alive. Doesn’t know if her brothers, Thomas and Edward, are dead or alive. Edward served in the war and was discharged in San Francisco. She has inquired at the Pension Department but there was no information on him.

Flushing, July 25, 1902

Dear Cousin

I received your very kind letter. Was much pleased. Can sympathize with you in the loss of your loved ones[1] but we trust they are better of that it is our loss and their gain although we miss them so much. I never met your Brother Hiram[2] but I know him through Mother[3] and think one of the noblest of men. I wish there where more like him and his wife[4]. I hope he will yet meet with succes and regain his property or money and health. I live alone. My health is some better. I am resting from some of my trouble and excitement. Had no sleep night or day for 8 years[5] only as I could catch a little now and then and excited all the time and I think this rest has saved my life and reason I take a cold bath every day. I have not been to my Daughter[6] for a year, about 100 miles. Think I will go this summer. Her and her Husband[7] have very poor health. She has three children, all girls, the oldest 18 years old.[8] You spoke of Hannah Comfort[9]. She and her sister yonger[10] lives in St Catharines Ontario with Dr John[11], their brother. He is a widdower. I have just writen him. We corrospond some times. I have just writen to my Daughter, so this is the third I have writen this afternoon and as I am nervous, it shows in my writing. You asked me about Unkle Stevens[12] Daughter. I never correspond with her so I could not give you her address. Mother got the glasses and I paid about 2.00 dollars and got them mended for her and she wore them till she died. Then I gave them to my Daughter. She has them now but only as a keep sake as they are very old fashoned. I hope you can read this and if you let me know how to find you if I ever come that way I will call on you or make you a short visit and when you write, let me know (where) your brother Hiram lives and if I go to Chicago I would call on them. You see I am all alone, do not know anything about Brother Thommas[13], if he is living or dead, or Brother Edward[14]. He went to war and was Discharged in Sanfrancisco. I have made inquirn at the Pention Department but can not get any tidings. I will close. Will be glad to hear from you at any time it is convenient to write.

Very truly your cousin

Mrs A. Lacey

 

[1] Sarah’s brother D. C. Crawford and her son-in-law Henry Brown

[2] Hiram Crawford Jr.

[3] Mary (Comfort) Wickersham. Mary was a sister of Sarah’s mother, Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[4] Katherine (Atchinson) Crawford

[5] See her March 7, 1902 letter in which she writes about caring for her invalid husband

[6] Alberta (Lacey) McConnell

[7] James McConnell

[8] Angelina, Lila and Ellena McConnell

[9] Hannah Comfort was a daughter of Francis and Jemima (Wilcox) Comfort. Francis was an older brother of Sarah’s mother, Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

[10] Hannah’s younger sister was Nancy Comfort

[11] Dr. John Comfort was a son of Francis and Jemima (Wilcox) Comfort.

[12] Stephen Comfort, Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts’s youngest brother

[13] Thomas Wickersham

[14] Edward Wickersham

Leave a Reply

