November 14, 1902 letter to James Keith from Robert Crawford

November 14, 1902

To: James Keith, Shelbyville, MI

From: Robert Crawford, Neenah, WI

After visiting relatives in Shelbyville, Robert went to Chicago with his nephew, Ethan, to visit his niece, Nancy, and his brother, Hiram, before returning home in Neenah, Wisconsin. He received a letter from his sister, Sarah, who was getting weaker and was gradually failing when he saw her. He was planning to spend the winter with his daughter, Lulu, and her family in Oelwein, Iowa. Heard about the marriages of Cora’s sister, Josephine, and also his niece, Bess, to Julius.

Neenah Nov 14 1902

Mr J C Keith
Shelbyville Mich

Dear Nephew

As you are aware by this time I came through with Ethen[1] to Chicago over the M C. We had a pleasant trip and was met at the depot by Nancy[2] and your Uncle Hiram[3] and I was pleased to meet them. I came through to Milwaukee the next day and here shortly after. My folks are usually well.[4] I have re’d a letter from your mother[5] since I came home but it was all she could do to write to me. I have written to her twice lately. I expect to go to Milwaukee next Tuesday on my way to Oelwein Iowa to stop with my daughter Lulu[6] this coming winter and return in the spring if possible. Well James how are you and Cora[7] and the children.[8] I hope that you are all well. I heard about Coras sister getting married[9] all right. I hope that she is happy. Please give her my regards and the family. Hope they are well. How many potatoes did you have JC[10] and have you a team yet.[11] You need one there is no doubt about that. If not it will come in time and you will appreciate them more perhaps. I did not see much change in your mothers condition JC from the time I saw her when I first came till I came away last. I think she is getting weaker and is gradually failing. I expect to go to Chicago by the 23 of this month and shortly after will leave for Iowa. I recd cards announcing the marriage of Miss Besse[12] to Julius[13] & we hope they will be happy. I am feeling quite well now and I think my trip to Mich done me good. I hope that I may come again to visit you all. It has been raining quite hard this forenoon and it makes it disagreeable and unpleasant. I wrote to your sister Mrs Lou Harris[14] but I have not heard from her yet. I hope they are all well. If I hear from you my nephew I will write you again when I get to Iowa.

Regards & love to you and Cora and the Children & relations friends

Your Uncle

Robt Crawford

Address me at 102½ 31″ Street
Milwaukee, Wis

[1] James’ brother

[2] James’ sister, Nancy (Keith) Brown

[3] Robert’s brother, Hiram Crawford Jr.

[4] Robert lived with his daughter, Edna (Crawford) Henry Tullar, and her family until his death, April 13, 1903

[5] Sarah (Crawford) Keith. Sarah was Robert’s sister; she died November 18, 1902

[6] Lulu (Crawford) Witte

[7] James’ wife, Cora (Meredith) Keith

[8] Mary “Winifred” (age 10) and Walter Keith (age 4)

[9] Josephine Meredith had recently married Fred Dean on October 22, 1902

[10] James’ middle name was Clinton

[11]James and Cora had just recently moved back to Shelbyville after having lived in Chicago for approximately ten years

[12] Bess Brown, daughter of Henry and Nancy (Keith) Brown

[13] Bess married Julius Recoschewitz November 6, 1902

[14] Louese (Keith) Harris

Leave a Reply

