April 25, 1904 letter to James Keith from Kate Crawford

April 25, 1904

To: James Keith, Shelbyville, MI

From: Katherine Crawford, Chicago, IL

Kate is repaying Jim the dollar that they borrowed from him. Charley is failing rapidly. He “has a cavity in his lung and is generally falling to pieces.”

Chicago, Ill

Apr 1904[1]

Dear Jim

You will be surprised beyond measure no doubt to get this communication from me and I feel heartily ashamed of my negligence. I have owed you this dollar for a long time & I have never forgotten it but the truth is for a long time when we were so pressed when I saw you I did not have it & when I had it I did not see you. I thought of it many times when I was away and promised myself it would be one of the first things I would do on my return but the sickness and care in our family has caused me to delay writing & to night I said I would do it before I went to bed. I trust it will come in in a good place now. I shall know you recd it all right if not returned. Charley[2] is failing rapidly. Keeps his bed most of the time. He has suffered torture. About one week ago the Dr gave him some medicine that has deadned the suffering but still the disease goes on. He has a cavity in his lung & is generally falling to peices. I suppose your father[3] is in a feeble state but he has lived to a ripe old age. Charley is young and it seems hard but the Lord knows all about it & if he is trusting in the finished work of Christ which I feel he is it will be all well with him & he will only go on a little in advance. Remember me kindly to your wife[4] & I trust you are all enjoying good health. Uncle Hiram[5] is feeling pretty well now.

Good Bye

Yours

Aunt Kate

[1] The envelope bears a postmark of April 25, 1904

[2] Kate’s son-in-law, Charles T. Eck Jr., who died May 23, 1904

[3] Charles Luke Keith Jr.

[4] Cora (Meredith) Keith

[5] Kate’s husband, and Jim’s maternal uncle, Hiram Crawford Jr.

Leave a Reply

