December 26, 1902 letter to Nancy Brown from Robert Crawford

December 26, 1902

To: Nancy Brown

From: Robert Crawford, Shell Rock, IA

Robert is writing about his last visit with his sister in October and about Ethan and Hannah’s devotion to their parents. He is staying with his daughter Lizzie and her husband, Jay Smith, through the Christmas holidays and then spending the winter with his other daughter, Lulu, in Oelwein, Iowa.

Shell Rock             Dec 26″ 1902

Mrs Nancy Brown
Chicago, Ill

Dear Niece

I suppose you are waiting for me to write you and I should have sooner but my eyes has been very bad. I cannot read or write but little but I wrote to Leila[1] quite a while ago as you were in Mich then you came there when your Mother[2] died, Nancy, and see her pass away very quietly I think without much suffering. Dear Old Sarah. She had enough of that before. I realized Nancy your mother could not stay much longer here when I was there last. I thought she could not pass away so soon or I would not have come away at the time I did. I expressed my self quite freely Nancy in regard to Ethen[3] & Hannah[4] devotion to your Ma & Pa[5] and how they had taken care of their parents so long and faithfully that was good and kind for them to do it and I think Nancy you or Lou[6] would have done the same if placed in the same position they were. I know Nancy my sisters children always thought kindly of their parents and loved them. I am here at Shell Rock to visit Lizzie and Jay her hubby and Paul their son[7] and spend Christmas with them. They are well. I intend to stay here till a week from tomorrow and then return to Oelwein and stay with Lulu[8] this winter. I intend to come to Chicago in the Spring some time & will visit you then. I rec’d a letter recently from your Uncle Hiram[9] saying that he had not heard from Mich by letter since he came away from there. Also that Charly Eck[10] his son in law was very poorly and hardly expected to recover. Excuse me now Nancy for my eyes are giving out and write me here at Shell Rock Iowa. Lizzie & Family join with me in love & regards to you & yours. Nancy I did not hear from Leila yet. I will write to Bessie[11] next.

Your Uncle Robert

Robt Crawford

My address when at Lulu is Oelwein Iowa Box 280

[1] Lela Brown, Nancy’s daughter

[2] Sarah (Crawford) Keith

[3] Nancy’s brother, Ethan Keith

[4] Nancy’s sister, Hannah (Keith) Towne

[5] Charles Luke Keith Jr.

[6] Nancy’s sister, Louese (Keith) Harris

[7] His daughter, Lizzie, and her husband and son, Jay and Paul Smith

[8] Lulu (Crawford) Witte, Robert’s daughter

[9] Robert’s brother and Nancy’s uncle, Hiram Crawford Jr.

[10] Charley Eck was married to Hiram’s daughter Jessie Blanche (Crawford) Eck

[11] Bess (Brown) Recoschewitz, Nancy’s daughter

Leave a Reply

