April 6, 1920 letter to James Keith from Minnie Crawford

April 6, 1920

To: James Keith, Shelbyville, MI

From: Minnie Crawford, Chicago, IL

Tells of her brother Smyth Crooks’ death and funeral and encloses the newspaper clipping of his obituary. Also mentions that her sister Sarah’s husband died about six weeks earlier.

Chicago[1]

Dear Jim[2]

I am writing you a few lines tonight. I have just got home from my brothers funeral (Smyth’s[3]). He died last Friday morning and was buried today. A wonderfull Masonic funeral! I feel very badly about it. He and I were pretty close. Sarahs[4] husband[5] died about six weeks ago. I found him dead and believe me if you seen my hair it is whiter then yours since then. Tell Cora[6] that if it was warm I would hike out there to see her but I guess I will have to waite for awhile. Give my love to every one fondest to Cora.

Lovingly

Minnie Crawford

[1] While there is no date on the letter, the accompanying newspaper notice states that the funeral was to be held on April 6, 1920

[2] Minnie’s husband, Eugene Crawford, and James Keith were first cousins

[3] Smyth Crooks, who died April 3, 1920

[4] Minnie’s sister, Sarah (Crooks) Searles

[5] Edward Searles; he died February 6, 1920

[6] Jim’s wife, Cora (Meredith) Keith

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: April 6, 1920 letter to James Keith from Minnie Crawford | Letters & Diary Entries From the 1920s

Leave a Reply

