June 7, 1921 letter to Nancy Brown from Hannah Towne

June 7, 1921

To: Nancy Brown, Chicago, IL

From: Hannah Towne, Kalamazoo, MI

Hannah’s arm and hand are very lame and she hasn’t slept very well the last two nights. Ethan has so much work to do. He has planted, and four of their hens’ eggs started hatching yesterday. There are 21 little chickens and still more that haven’t hatched yet. Uncle Henry was worried about her and Ethan and came out to see them. Clara and her husband have rented a house on the lake in Evanston for three months and Henry and Virginia will go with them.

Tuesday 8:3- A.M. June 7-1921

Dear Sister

My arm is so lame and hand too that I cant write very good. Have’nt slept very good for two nights it aches so bad. Thought I could’nt use it at all when I got up but it is limbered up some now. Haveing it in hot dish water helped it some. Ethen[1] churned yesterday. I put it in a crock thinking he would have to take it to the burg[2] this A.M. It is so cool and the butter came hard and is hard now that he will send it to Chicago to day. He has got so much to do “all at once” that he hates to take the time to go to the burg. He is fixing a place for the little chickens. He had four hens setting and the chickens commenced to hatch yesterday. He finished planting the corn Saturday. After I get the dinner work did up Friday I laid down. Had’nt been there long when an auto drove in. I looked out and saw uncle Henry.[3] Mr Frank McClory brought him over. He got to worrying about Ethen and I so concluded to come and see us, stay over night. He is the most considerate of any old person that I know of and some young. He said he knew Ethen would be so busy that he could get over here some way with out bothering him, and he got a lunch in Kal- so not to make me any extra work. He told Ethen not to stop his work keep right on planting. All he wanted was to come and see how we were. He gave me $1.00. When he was here in the spring he brought Ethen a good pair of pants and suspenders and something else I cant think what. He took them to the cleaners and had them cleaned and pressed. I have got take them in a bit around the waist. Now he is agoing to send him a coat and pair of pants. He says if Clara[4] was like him she would fix us up here in good shape. I told him she did’nt know any thing about us. Dont tell that to any one only you and the girls are to know it. He went home Sat- P.M. He was looking fine and not one bit childish – mind is clear. Clara and husband[5] have rented a house or cottage at Evanston on the lake for three months, go the middle of this month. He and Virginia[6] go with them. They have all the help that is needed in doors and out.

Carrie had the operation yesterdy A.M. “ten oclock” by fast time. Got through it all right. Mrs Lerner[?] came Sunday. She and Ida went with Carrie Sunday P.M. when ___ took her to the Hospital. Then they went with the Dr yesterdy morning. Mrs Lerner staid with Ida until last night. Mrs Newberrie stays with Ida nights. She works for Nellie. Dr Balch performed the operation. Took the gall bladder and a string of stones the worst kind – “rough.” I dont know what else. Ida told me that over the phone. I hope she will be better after this.

Ethen just came in and said he had got 21 chickens on the barn floor. They are penned in. They aren’t all hatched yet but so many are out. Wish Helen and Jean[7] could see them. I am going out after a while.

Hope you keep on going and that Helen will get along all right. It is a good time for them to have the ___. I had too much company last week. Have been all in and more so now. If I can be alone will get to feeling better I hope. There is sweeping and mopping to do but I cant do it now. I dread Aunt Jennie[8] – so hard to talk to her. Ethens stomach is so weak and I would think it would be. I may send a card last of week.

Love

H[9]

——-

[1] Hannah’s brother, Ethan Keith, who she lived with

[2] Galesburg, Michigan

[3] Henry Crawford, brother of Hannah’s mother, Sarah (Comfort) Crawford

[4] Henry’s daughter, Clara (Crawford) Hopkins Hammatt

[5] William Hammatt

[6] Henry’s wife, Virginia (Worley) Crawford daughter, Virginia Crawford

[7] Nancy’s grandchildren, Helen and Jean Mueller

[8] Virginia (Worley) Crawford

[9] Hannah (Keith) Towne

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: June 7, 1921 letter to Nancy Brown from Hannah Towne | Letters & Diary Entries From the 1920s

Leave a Reply

