July 24, 1882 letter to Sarah Keith from Kate Crawford

July 24, 1882

To: Sarah Keith, Galesburg, MI

From: Kate Crawford, Chicago, IL

Kate is writing to inquire whether Jessie can come visit Sarah while Kate is on a trip home. Harry is hoping to start work soon for Marshall Fields.

1882-07-24 1882-07-24B 1882-07-24C 1882-07-24D 1882-07-24env

Chicago, Ill

July 24th 1882

Monday Morning

Sarah,

Dear Sister,

Perhaps you will be surprised to hear from me at this time, but you know strange things are happening all the time. I would write you oftener but as Hi[1] writes once a month I feel that you hear from us and I excuse myself from the responsibility. I expect to start for my home[2] on Thursday 27th. I had intended to leave Jessie[3] at the boarding house as long as Hi was here and while he was away I thought I would let her stay with Kit Crawford[4] but in thinking the matter all over we have thought (if it is agreable with you) best to let her go down and stay with you and we will stop there on our way back and make you a short visit and take her home with us. Saturday was the day we thought best for her to start. And now Sarah if this does not meet your approbation do not hesitate to let us know by return of mail. If you are situated in any way so that it would not be convenient dont fail to say so. Harry[5] is hoping to get into Marshal Fields wholesale house soon. And I hope he will. Hi will come East about the middle of August if all is well.

Now Sarah, I will close, hoping this will find you all in good health and spirits. Give my love to Mother[6] and tell her we will come and visit her soon.

With love to all from all. I am as ever

Your Sister,

Kate

[1] Hiram Crawford Jr., Kate’s husband

[2] Kate lived in Ogdensburg, New York, before she was married

[3] Jessie Blanche Crawford, Kate’s daughter

[4] Katherine Sarah (Kit) Crawford, the daughter of Hiram’s brother Robert

[5] Harry A. Crawford, Kate’s son

[6] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

Leave a Reply

