October 29, 1902 letter to Louese Harris from Robert Crawford

October 29, 1902

To: Louese Harris, Shelbyville, MI

From: Robert Crawford, Milwaukee, WI

Robert arrived in Chicago Sunday on the excursion train with Ethan after visiting Sarah. They had a very enjoyable trip and found Uncle Hi and his sister Nancy there at the Central Depot. All were well except Charley Eck who was in very poor condition. “Your Mother is in a very poor condition and gradually failing.”

Milwaukee, Oct 29″ 02

Mrs Lou Harris
Shelbyville, Mi

Dear Niece,

I came to Chicago Sunday on the excursion train with Ethan.[1] We had a very enjoyable trip and found your Uncle Hi[2] & your sister Nancy[3] there at the Central Depot to meet us. We found them all usually well but Charly Eck.[4] He is in a very poor condition. Your Mother[5] dear Niece is in a very poor condition and I think she is gradually failing. I hope that may get the better of this but it is a poor consolation to live and suffer as she does.[6] We hope for the best. I expect to go to Neenah (to Ednas[7]) next Friday the 31″ to stay awhile there and to Omro, my old home. Will return to Milwaukee later. Expect to go to Chicago about the 20″ of November & visit relations there and then to go to my daughters at Oelwein.[8] I ____ to stay there through the winter. I forgot to mention that I found Bird[9] & Hers well and I am feeling well myself. I hope that you & yours are well Lou & JC[10] and family. Tell Jim[11] I will write him later. I suppose that he has got through his County Business by this time. I hope that he is feeling much better then he was when I was there. I heard recently that Miss Meredith[12] was married a few days ago.[13] Please give my congratulations and my regards to Mr Meredith[14] & Family and love and regards to you dear Niece & your husband and children and JC & family. Your Uncle Robert

Robt Crawford

Will be pleased to hear from you any time Niece

[1] Ethan Keith, Louese’s brother

[2] Hiram Crawford Jr., Robert’s brother

[3] Nancy (Keith) Brown

[4] Charles Eck, the husband of Jessie (Crawford) Eck, Hiram’s daughter

[5] Sarah (Crawford) Keith

[6] Sarah died on November 18, 1902

[7] Robert’s daughter, Edna (Crawford) Henry Tullar

[8] Oelwein, Iowa, where his daughter, Lulu (Crawford) Witte, lived

[9] His daughter, Cynthia (Crawford) Carlson

[10] Louese’s brother, James C. Keith

[11] James Keith

[12] Josephine Meredith, who was the sister of Cora (Meredith) Keith (James Keith’s wife)

[13] Josephine married Fred Wilbur Dean on October 22, 1902

[14] Cora’s and Josephine’s father, Walter Burton Meredith

Leave a Reply

